Be Careful Out There - Puzzle Arcade save-eating bug

| 5 Comments
I feel the need to warn anyone who took my advice and picked up the Puzzle Arcade jigsaw game from Xbox Live Marketplace that there's a serious save-eating bug. It appears to be triggered when you complete a puzzle - possibly in conjunction with starting a new one instead of choosing a previously saved one. It might have been just the act of completing a different puzzle, though I solved some puzzles without losing the others I had saved. When it happened, I lost about two hours of progress sorting an Expert 1000+ piece puzzle and solving a couple dozen chunks of a three-level fractal puzzle. I'd suggest if you put any time into a puzzle, don't start any others until you finish it. Just save when you quit and go back to it until it's done. The developers have locked the save file, so backing it up to a memory card between games isn't even an option. I still recommend the game (especially if you bring your own custom soundtrack since the default one is coma-inducing!), but I do hope Eidos fixes all of the save-related issues: Accessing the save option requires you to lay down at least one piece, and then you can lose it all by taking a small detour from an epic puzzle to solve an easier one...

Happy New Year, busy gamers!

5 Comments

1.

Hi,

We're sorry to hear about this and we're trying to reproduce the bug. If you can give us any further information it would be greatly appreciated. Things such as exactly which puzzles and mode you were playing, when the saved puzzle disappeared, did you have more than one puzzle saved. Also, if anyone else has encountered problems of this nature, please email enquiry@eidos.co.uk, putting 'FAO Caspar Gray, Puzzle Arcade Save Bug' in the subject line.

Kind regards,
Caspar Gray
Eidos UK

3.

Thank you very much for the extra info - this will prove invaluable in getting to the bottom of the problem!

4.

The developers have now confirmed the nature of the problem. It is linked to switching profiles. Basically, most games force players to go back to the main menu to switch profile, but CTXM wanted to allow people to switch profile anywhere. Unfortunately, they’ve not implemented it correctly and switching profile on screens other than the main menu can cause the game to lose saved puzzle history.

If from now on you only change profile at the main menu screen (this is the first menu that comes up after the title screen. It’s the one where you choose single or multiplayer – not the next one along where you choose the puzzle style) you shouldn’t encounter the problem again.

Leave a comment

Join Busy Gamers
on Facebook


About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Gamewatcher published on December 31, 2008 11:52 PM.

Misery Loves Company - LittleBigPlanet save- and level-eating bug, recent patches was the previous entry in this blog.

Steals and Deals - All Steam games on sale through today is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Recent Comments

  • Gamewatcher: Interesting. It's possible I did this once, a long time read more
  • Caspar Gray, Eidos UK: The developers have now confirmed the nature of the problem. read more
  • Caspar Gray, Eidos UK: Thank you very much for the extra info - this read more
  • Gamewatcher: I originally tagged this as a Puzzle Arcade save-eating bug read more
  • Caspar Gray, Eidos UK: Hi, We're sorry to hear about this and we're trying read more

Pages